- What is the difference between a text message and a SMS message?
- Can you remove a text from iMessage?
- Can you turn off iMessages for one person?
- Why am I not receiving texts from a certain person?
- How do you know you were blocked on iMessage?
- Why are my texts green when iMessage is on?
- What happens when you turn off SMS on iPhone?
- What happens to iMessage when phone is off?
- Why would someone turn their iMessage off?
- Can you delete iMessages on both sides?
- How do I disable iMessage on my iPhone?
- Should iMessage be turned on or off?
- Why are my Imessages sending as texts to one person?
- Does iMessage delete messages for both?
- Can you tell if someone deleted your iMessage?
- Can you turn off texting on iPhone?
- Does iMessage turn green when phone is off?
- Can I still receive messages if I turn off iMessage?
What is the difference between a text message and a SMS message?
SMS is an abbreviation for Short Message Service.
In layman’s terms: it’s a text message.
However, while you might refer to a variety of different message types as simply a “text” in your daily life, the difference is that an SMS message contains only text (no pictures or videos) and is limited to 160 characters..
Can you remove a text from iMessage?
Delete a conversation In the Messages list, swipe left on the conversation. Tap Delete.
Can you turn off iMessages for one person?
iMessage is a single setting that can be toggled on or off. But if you’d like to send Text Messages to a single contact, you have a couple options. … To do this, visit Settings > Messages, then toggle off iMessage. Toggle it back on when you’re ready to re-enable iMessage.
Why am I not receiving texts from a certain person?
Tap Settings then tap on Block Messages. … If the number is not in the block list then try clearing the cache and data of the messages app from the application manager. Start the phone in Safe Mode then check if the message is received in this mode. If it does then the problem could be caused by an app you downloaded.
How do you know you were blocked on iMessage?
You can also try to check if your number has been blocked by sending the person a message. If the iMessage never shows a “Delivered” or “Read” message, and it’s still blue, then you may have been blocked – but not always.
Why are my texts green when iMessage is on?
Green Background It also typically went to a non-iOS device such as an Android or Windows phone. Sometimes you can also send or receive green text messages to an iOS device. This happens when iMessage is turned off on one of the devices. … Enable iMessage.
What happens when you turn off SMS on iPhone?
When you disable SMS, the iMessage system automatically takes over, and sends and receives messages using your cellular or Wi-Fi data connection. To ensure you don’t receive any text messages through SMS, you can also disable your cellular data connection to force your iPhone to use an available Wi-Fi network.
What happens to iMessage when phone is off?
When the recipient’s phone is turned off or dead, Apple holds the iMessages sent to that account on its servers and delivers them to the iPhone when the recipient turns it back on. … The message is delivered to any of these devices when it is active, even if the message has not reached the phone.
Why would someone turn their iMessage off?
But if not and the person simply is not in data coverage, he or she will get the imessage when the person is back with internet connectivity. … If they have another phone such as Android, BlackBerry or Windows phone, they must deregiater their iMessage with Apple to receive texts from previous iMessage contacts.
Can you delete iMessages on both sides?
Unless you take action, your iPhone will keep a permanent copy of all of your messages forever. You can delete an entire conversation by swiping left on it in your iPhone’s Messages app. To delete individual messages, tap and hold on the message until you see the pop-up menu, then tap it to get to the trash can.
How do I disable iMessage on my iPhone?
Turn off iMessageOn your iPhone, go to Settings.Tap Messages.Set iMessage to Off.
Should iMessage be turned on or off?
iMessage isn’t enabled by default on an iPhone, but when you first set up the phone, you have the option to switch it on. … Use with Androids: If you move from iPhone to Android devices, make sure to turn off iMessage. If you don’t, iMessages from iPhones won’t make it to your new Android phone.
Why are my Imessages sending as texts to one person?
It could be possible that the person has either blocked you and if this is not the case then, try point 2. Sign Out Of iMessage and Sign Back In. Head back to Settings -> Messages and tap to open ‘Send & Receive’. … Sign back in using your Apple ID and try sending an iMessage to one of your friends with an iPhone.
Does iMessage delete messages for both?
Once it has been delivered to their Messages, there is no way for anyone but them to delete it. The only way for the conversation to be completely gone is if both of you have deleted it.
Can you tell if someone deleted your iMessage?
Seeing if someone deleted a message you sent to them on their own device would be impossible without actually looking at their device. … Bottom line: If you’re trying to see if someone else is deleting messages on their own phone, you won’t be able to see that action without having access to their device.
Can you turn off texting on iPhone?
Text only from your iPhone You can disable texting via the Messages app on your other devices, but you can also do so from your iPhone. Head to Settings > Messages and see how many devices you have listed for Text Message Forwarding. Just toggle off the devices you no longer want to use to receive and send texts.
Does iMessage turn green when phone is off?
Green bubbles indicate that the message was sent using SMS instead of iMessage (blue bubble). … You can disable the SMS fallback by going to Settings > Messages and turn off the “Send as SMS” option.
Can I still receive messages if I turn off iMessage?
Turning Off iMessage Turning off the iMessage slider on one device will still allow iMessages to be received on the other device. … Therefore, when other iPhone users send a message to you, it is sent as an iMessage to your Apple ID. But, since the slider is turned off, the message is not delivered to your iPhone.